RMail Success Story – Europaeiske ERV

Travel Insurance, Denmark

“The introduction of RMail has brought a new level to our communication with travelers around the world. The exchange of personal and private data with travelers, doctors and clinics via RMail encryption helps manage claims in a better, simpler and more efficient way and the RMail Registered Receipt email works as a compliance record for the GDPR of the EU.”

Kurt Madsen - IT Network and System Administrator

Project
Introduction of a solution for the secure, digital exchange of private data of customers including auditable proof of compliance.

Solution
e-communications RMail with its modules “Encryption with Auto-TLS”, “Secure Reply” and “Anti-Whaling”

Benefits / Advantages

  • Simple and straightforward implementation
  • Registered Receipt (Compliance Record) to demonstrate compliance
  • Auditable Proof of Compliance
  • Efficiency improvements through e-Substitution
  • Enhanced protection against cybercrime (CEO Fraud)

 

About Europæiske ERV



Europæiske ERV was the first provider of travel insurance in Denmark and today retains a leading position in the travel insurance market having more than 90 years of experience in providing security and safety to travelers. The majority of Danish tourists and travelers take out their travel insurance with Europæiske ERV. Loyalty was received by guaranteeing personal and swift assistance to customers no matter where in the world they are when an accident occurs. Europæiske ERV is owned by the German company Europäische Reiseversicherung AG (ERV) and has sister-companies in many European countries. ERV has about 40 million customers worldwide.
 
 
 
 

The Story



The introduction of the General Data Protection Regulation of the EU requires in-depth analysis of existing data acquisition, data processing, data storage and data transmission workflows whenever private data are concerned. As one of the leading travel insurance providers worldwide, Europæiske ERV manages billions of private information from customers and it is therefore more than understandable, that Data Protection is a primary goal of the insurance company.

Europæiske ERV selected RMail as the standard solution for its email encryption. With its built-in encryption scenarios, RMail makes sure that private information remain private, wherever a traveler requires a contact with the travel insurance. And another goal could be achieved as well: The recipient is now able to answer securely, without any accounts or additional registrations.
 
 

First Experiances



The roll-out experience was excellent. The positive user feedback and the overall performance and availability was rated “very good”. Internal data protection audits gave green light for the RMail solution to demonstrate compliance under GDPR. RMail with its “Secure Reply” function helps to simplify the data exchange between all parties when medical information or claims are concerned replacing the existing paper based process saving time, postage and paper. The acceptance and user experience levels of the recipients are outstanding.

Finally, as cybercrime is focusing more and more on users of computer systems, RMail offers with its Anti-Whaling imposter protection an additional layer of security warning users with a pop-up to be careful and to verify the sender and the content using the good old telephone should the email be “suspicious”.
 
 
 
 

Co-operation and Roll Out



The Danish partner of Frama Communications AG, Danastar ApS, coordinated the first analysis summarising the main requirements of Europæiske ERV: Encryption of private data, reduction of human error together with an auditable proof of compliance for GDPR.

Frama developed a special configuration for Europæiske ERV, which allows members of staff to send encrypted emails as simple as standard emails. The roll-out was fast as there is virtually no product training required, the training was mainly targeted towards compliance and data protection procedures.
 
 

The Verdict



It is easy to encrypt an email, but it is difficult to provide a system that is widely accepted from all involved parties and at the same time demonstrates compliance towards GDPR. This is where RMail performs! Europæiske ERV has implemented an easy to use, well featured and forward thinking solution to demonstrate compliance and to increase efficiency by replacing existing paper based workflows.

RMail Erfolgsbericht – Europaeiske ERV

Reiseversicherung, Dänemark

"Die Einführung von RMail hat unsere Kommunikation mit Reisenden auf der ganzen Welt auf eine ganz neue Ebene gebracht. Der Austausch persönlicher und privater Daten mit Reisenden, Ärzten und Kliniken via RMail-Verschlüsselung ermöglicht eine bessere, einfachere und effizientere Verwaltung von Schadensfällen. Der RMail-Zustellungsnachweis dient zudem als Compliance-Nachweis für die DSGVO der EU. "

Kurt Madsen - IT Network and System Administrator

Projekt
Einführung einer Lösung für den sicheren, digitalen Austausch privater Daten von Kunden inklusive auditierbarem Nachweis der Compliance.

Lösung
e-communications RMail mit seinen Modulen "Verschlüsselung mit Auto-TLS", "Secure Reply" und "Anti-Whaling"

Nutzen / Vorteile

  • Einfache und unkomplizierte Implementierung
  • Registered Receipt (Compliance Record) um Compliance nachzuweisen
  • Auditfähiger Compliance-Nachweis
  • Effizienzverbesserungen durch e-Substitution
  • Verbesserter Schutz vor Cyberkriminalität (CEO Fraud)

 

Über Europæiske ERV



Europæiske ERV war der erste Anbieter von Reiseversicherungen in Dänemark und hat heute eine führende Position im Reiseversicherungsmarkt mit mehr als 90 Jahren Erfahrung im Versicherungsschutz von Reisenden. Die Mehrheit der dänischen Touristen und Reisenden schließt ihre Reiseversicherung mit Europæiske ERV ab. Diese Loyalität wurde durch die Gewährleistung persönlicher und schneller Hilfe für die Kunden erreicht, egal wo auf der Welt sie sich befinden, wenn ein Unfall passiert. Europæiske ERV ist im Besitz der deutschen Europäischen Reiseversicherung AG (ERV) und hat Schwestergesellschaften in vielen europäischen Ländern. Die ERV hat weltweit rund 40 Millionen Kunden.
 
 
 
 

Die Geschichte



Die Einführung der europäischen Datenschutz-Grundverordnung erfordert eine eingehende Analyse der bestehenden Abläufe bei der Datenerfassung, Datenverarbeitung, Datenspeicherung und Datenübertragung von privaten Daten. Als einer der führenden Reiseversicherungs-Anbieter weltweit verwaltet Europæiske ERV Milliarden von privaten Informationen von Kunden, und es ist daher mehr als verständlich, dass Datenschutz ein primäres Ziel der Versicherungsgesellschaft ist.

Europæiske ERV hat RMail als Standardlösung für seine E-Mail-Verschlüsselung ausgewählt. Rmail stellt mit seinen integrierten Verschlüsselungsszenarien sicher, dass private Informationen auch privat bleiben, von wo auch immer ein Reisender einen Kontakt mit der Reiseversicherung benötigt. Und ein weiteres Ziel konnte ebenfalls erreicht werden: Der Empfänger kann nun sicher antworten, ohne irgendwelche Accounts oder zusätzliche Registrierungen.
 
 

Erste Erfahrungen



Die Lancierung verlief ausgezeichnet. Das Feedback der Nutzer war positiv und sowohl die Gesamtleistung als auch die Verfügbarkeit wurden mit "sehr gut" bewertet. Interne Datenschutz-Audits ergaben grünes Licht für die RMail-Lösung als Nachweis der DSGVO Compliance. RMail mit seiner "Secure Reply" - Funktion vereinfacht den Datenaustausch betreffend medizinischer Informationen und Schadensfälle zwischen allen Beteiligten, und der Ersatz der vorbestehenden papierbasierten Abläufe spart Zeit, Porto und Papier. Die Akzeptanz und die Anwendererfahrung der Empfänger sind hervorragend.

Da sich die Cyberkriminalität immer mehr auf Benutzer von Computersystemen konzentriert, bietet RMail eine zusätzliche Schutzbarriere mit seinem "Anti-Whaling-Schutz", welcher bei suspekten Emails die Benutzer mit einem Pop-Up ermahnt vorsichtig zu sein und sowohl den Absender als auch den Inhalt mit dem guten alten Telefon zu verifizieren.
 
 
 
 

Zusammenarbeit und Rollout



Der dänische Partner der Frama Communications AG, Danastar ApS, koordinierte die erste Analyse, welche die wichtigsten Anforderungen von Europæiske ERV zusammenfasste: Verschlüsselung privater Daten, Verminderung menschlicher Fehler zusammen mit einem auditierbaren Nachweis der Einhaltung der DSGVO.

Frama entwickelte eine spezielle Konfiguration für Europæiske ERV, die es den Mitarbeitern erlaubt, verschlüsselte E-Mails so einfach wie gewöhnliche E-Mails zu versenden. Die Einführung erfolgte schnell, da praktisch keine Produktschulung erforderlich war. Das Training war hauptsächlich auf Compliance und Verfahren zum Schutz personenbezogener Daten ausgerichtet.
 
 

Das Urteil



Es ist einfach, eine E-Mail zu verschlüsseln, aber es ist schwierig, ein System bereitzustellen, das von allen Beteiligten akzeptiert wird und gleichzeitig die Einhaltung der DSGVO nachweist. Genau das schafft RMail! Europæiske ERV hat damit eine einfach zu bedienende, gut ausgestattete und zukunftsorientierte Lösung implementiert, um die Einhaltung von gesetzlichen Vorschriften nachzuweisen und durch den Ersatz der bestehenden papierbasierten Abläufe die Effizienz zu erhöhen.